Nick Saban finishes top 10 in Morgan County for US Senate special election

Alabama head football coach Nick Saban had a decent showing among Morgan County write-in voters.

Posted: Dec 19, 2017 4:39 PM
Updated: Dec 19, 2017 7:15 PM

Alabama head football coach Nick Saban received enough votes in Morgan County to finish ahead of many recognizable Alabama politicians in the county's U.S. Senate special election results.

1. Roy Moore (19,215)

Nick Saban addresses media Monday before the Iron Bowl

2. Doug Jones (10,935)

3. Luther Strange (215)

4. Lee Busby (152)

5. Mo Brooks (72)

6. Arthur Orr (64)

7. Ron Bishop (29)

8. Chanda Crutcher (13)

9. "Blank" (9)

10. Nick Saban (8)

Saban finished ahead of Alabama Governor Kay Ivey, U.S. Rep. Robert Aderholt, State Rep. Ed Henry and U.S. Attorney General Jeff Sessions.

Morgan County voters cast 671 write-in votes, and while a large number were for people who would qualify for the seat, some used the opportunity to cast votes for fictional characters such as Bugs Bunny, Bozo The Clown and Mr. Magoo.

Deceased politicians Ronald Reagan and John Sparkman also received a vote each.

Auburn head football coach Gus Malzahn did not receive a vote in Morgan County.

You can read a full tally of Morgan County's write-in votes here.

Article Comments

66° wxIcon
Hi: 66° Lo: 52°
Feels Like: 66°
58° wxIcon
Hi: 63° Lo: 55°
Feels Like: 58°
63° wxIcon
Hi: 65° Lo: 51°
Feels Like: 63°
64° wxIcon
Hi: 67° Lo: 52°
Feels Like: 64°
64° wxIcon
Hi: 65° Lo: 50°
Feels Like: 64°
WAAY Radar
WAAY Temperatures

Community Events