Madison County special election write-in vote winners, losers tally

Huntsville Mayor Tommy Battle lands a spot in the top 10 for write-in votes in Madison County.

Posted: Dec 20, 2017 1:35 PM
Updated: Dec 20, 2017 6:47 PM

Madison County had the second most write-in votes in the state behind Jefferson County.

County officials tallied 3,324 eligible write-in votes, of which Luther Strange received 30% with 1015 votes.

1. Luther Strange (1,015)
2. Lee Busby (797)
3. Mo Brooks (493)
4. Ron Bishop (183)
5. Chanda Mills Crutcher (152)
6. Tommy Battle (65)
7. Jeff Sessions (59)
8. Nick Saban (45)
9. “Blank” (37)
10. Mac Watson (22)

Saban finished ahead of Alabama Governor Kay Ivey, Condoleeza Rice and U.S. Attorney General Jeff Sessions filling his own vacant seat.

Not all write-in votes could be counted. The list of 139 ineligible write-ins included “Blank,” “Jesus Christ” and “Mickey Mouse.” Even Santa picked up 2 write-in votes in Madison County along with some other fictional characters like Kermit the Frog, Bozo the Clown and Elmer Fudd.

Auburn head football coach Gus Malzahn received 1 vote in Madison County.

You can read a full tally of Madison County's write-in votes here.

Article Comments

63° wxIcon
Hi: 72° Lo: 57°
Feels Like: 63°
63° wxIcon
Hi: 73° Lo: 55°
Feels Like: 63°
61° wxIcon
Hi: 73° Lo: 54°
Feels Like: 61°
Broken Clouds
62° wxIcon
Hi: 72° Lo: 55°
Feels Like: 62°
59° wxIcon
Hi: 72° Lo: 58°
Feels Like: 59°
WAAY Radar
WAAY Temperatures

Community Events