NASHVILLE, Tenn. (AP) - Forestry officials are reminding Tennessee residents about burn permit rules ahead of the official start of the state's wildfire season.
The state Division of Forestry says getting a burn permit is free, but there are rules.
The division's online system accepts permit applications for burning a leaf or brush pile smaller than 8 feet by 8 feet in size. Larger burns require a call to the forestry division.
More than 300,000 permits are issued in Tennessee each year. Burning without a permit is punishable by up to 30 days in jail and a fine. Wildfires caused by arson are punishable by three to 15 years in prison and up to $10,000 in fines.
Tennessee's forestry division says wildfire season begins Oct. 15.
Information can be found at www.BurnSafeTN.org.
- Burn permit reminder ahead of TN wildfire season
- SCOTUS denies TN abortion appeal
- Limestone County Schools superintendent considering new job in TN
- Suspect apprehended after weekend burglary in Lawrence County, TN
- Court vacates key Atlantic Coast Pipeline permit
- Winchester TN murder: cops arrest 1 in Madison County, 5 in Colorado
- Three more tornado tracks found, bringing TN Valley total to 11
- Bag of bones found in TN are those of a missing man
- Second suspect arrested in connection to alleged rape of 16-month-old boy in TN
- U.S. Secretary of Transportation makes infrastructure announcement impacting the TN Valley